Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
alt_photo

Sophia

Verified teacher profile

  • Hourly rate $25
  • Response Time 24h
See Mathematics tutors
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Level 3 CRLA certified tutor and MS Graduate student studying Clinical and Translational Sciences at WVU. Offers support in college-level Mathematics through Calculus 1 and Intro Statistics.

    • Morgantown
    • at her home
    • at your home
    • webcam

About the lesson

I believe that tutoring sessions should not focus on content support, but also executive functioning skill development. Improving upon current strategies and finding new strategies for things such as time management, study skills, note-taking, organization, etc... are a vital part of helping a student develop into a high-achieving, independent learner. This is not only important to help them succeed in college, but also set them up for a success in their future career. I strongly believe in maintaining a growth mindset and acknowledging that every student is different. A tutor should meet a student where they are, adjust their tutoring approach according to the student's needs, and help foster the student's growth and development as an independent learner.

No matter the student, I use what is known as 'the tutor cycle" to design tutoring sessions. This means that the session is structured to have a clear beginning, middle, and end. The tutor cycle enables tutors and students to seamlessly incorporating both executive functioning skill development and content support into each session. This tutoring approach results in improved comprehension and the ability to encode the content into long-term memory and recall it easily at a later point in time.

I also believe that focusing on rapport building and making it a priority to get to know your student personally, is a key part to developing a strong tutor-tutee working relationship. By learning more about the student, I am able to incorporate their interests into tutoring sessions by applying concepts to real life examples of the concept applied to something that the student enjoys outside of academics. This practice not only helps strengthen the student's comprehension of the material, but it also helps me to make tutoring sessions fun and engaging for the student. I personally love learning and my goal is to show my students that academics can be fun and incredibly interesting if you have the right approach to learning and find something you are truly passionate about.

subjects

  • Mathematics
  • Algebra
  • Statistics
  • +2

    Calculus

    Precalculus

languages

  • English

levels

  • College / University
  • Adult Education
  • Masters
  • +3

    Advanced Technical Certificate

    Senior

    Junior

About Sophia

I earned my Bachelors of Science in May 2020 with dual majors in Biology and Psychology, a Neuroscience emphasis in Biology, and a minor in Philosophy. I am currently working on a Masters of Science in Clinical and Translational Sciences, which I expect to complete August of 2022. After completing my Masters, I plan to find a position as a research technician at a large academic institution and work for a year or two before applying to MD/PhD programs. My ultimate goal is to earn my PhD in a field related to Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry and ultimately having a career as a Physician Scientist specialized in Neuropathology with my research focused on neuroinflammation and the role of environmental stressors and toxins on the pathogenesis and molecular mechanisms involved in neurodegeneration, most specifically those involved in the onset and progression of Multiple Sclerosis.

I am a level 3 certified tutor through the College Reading and Learning Association, the only international tutor certification program. I have 3 years of experience tutoring students one-on-one who have been diagnosed with ADHD, ASD, and other learning challenges. I have received over 100 hours of formal training and assisted in training and evaluating both new and experienced tutors. I have tutored 11 different students one-on-one over the course of the last 3 years for a total of over 1,000 hours. Additionally, I have 1 year of experience as a drop-in Biology tutor and 1 semester of experience serving as an undergraduate teaching assistant for an upper division psychology elective.

Due to the diversity of my plan of study, I am able to support students in a wide variety of content, including various Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, Psychology, and Humanities courses at both the introductory level and at the upper division level. I also provide tutoring sessions focused on study techniques to prepare for the MCAT. I took the exam in July of 2020 and received a 508 which translates to scoring in the 74th percentile [C/P: 126, CARS: 127, B/BC: 127, P/S: 128].

Rates

packages

  • 5h: $110
  • 10h: $230

webcam

  • $20/h

Details

$25 is my standard base rate per hour. This may vary depending on how many hours you would like, if you want support in multiple courses, and the type of support you are interested in. Price will be negotiated and set during the first free lesson.

Find your tutor mathematics
306993 tutors available

  • Experienced Analytical Professional Offering Academic Tutoring with 10 years Experience in Tutoring

    David

    Bethlehem

    5 (1 reviews)
    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Math Tutorials in home tutoring with additional assignment given based on students understanding capability

    Mani

    Fairfax

    5 (1 reviews)
    • $15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Recently graduated Math major offering mathematics tutoring with 2 years of experience

    Alex

    Bel Air

    5 (1 reviews)
    • $35/h
    • 1hr free
  • A well-qualified mathematics teacher with 8 years of experience in teaching geometry, algebra, statistics, calculus and precalculus.

    Moath

    Alford

    5 (1 reviews)
    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Elementary Education Major offering algebra tutoring and homework help with 2 years of experience

    Olivia

    Morgantown

    • $12/h
    • 1hr free
  • University junior studying economics offering math lessons in Washington DC with 2 years experience

    Toly

    Washington

    • $11/h
    • 1hr free
  • To learn math, it requires failure. But when you get the answer, it will mean the world.

    Yi Jian

    Athens

    • $13/h
    • 1hr free
  • Amazing Tutors with a bachelor degree in business with three years experience

    Kelly

    Miami Gardens

    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Former mathematics student offering math courses in Houston with 3 years of experience.

    Jasmine

    Houston

    • $12/h
    • 30mins free
  • I am an engineering and computer science student with years of experience in physics, chemistry, biology, and mathematics. I also specialize in College Consulting. In mathematics, I teach PreCalculus,

    Om

    Burtonsville

    • $35/h
    • 1hr free
  • Seattle University graduate with a major in marketing looking to become a maths tutor.

    Adrian

    Seattle

    • $11/h
    • 1hr free
  • Math Master's student offering mathematics lessons at Victoria with 2 years experience

    Tingzhou

    Wilmington

    • $11/h
    • 1hr free
  • Senior engineering student offering elementary or advanced math tutoring in the Morgantown, WV area or virtually.

    Lina

    Morgantown

    • $15/h
    • 30mins free
  • Freshman at Rutgers University studying Finance and Statistics, eager to help students reach their goals

    Harold

    Fair Lawn

    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Very skilled tutor offers tutoring session for math subjects, such as: Algebra, Trigonometry, PreCalculus, Calculus, and Statistics in Overland Park, KS

    Annette

    Overland Park

    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Engineering student offering maths lessons from Florida with 2 years experience in tutoring.

    Ro-Hanna

    Orlando

    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Mathematics teaching assistant from the university of Minnesota, with more than 7 years of tutoring/teaching experience.

    Blaise

    Minneapolis

    • $30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Mathematics and statistics professor offering online tutoring for any topic from pre-algebra through calculus, and statistics (all ages and skill levels welcome)

    Josh

    Poughkeepsie

    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Unique ability to teach both physics and mathematics at any level. Experience over 30 years of teaching  undergraduate and graduate courses in mathematics and physics, including 17 years in US.

    Stoyan

    West Hartford

    • $45/h
    • 45mins free
  • College Student with Strong Background in Math (Algebra, Calculus, Pre-Calculus, Statistics, etc) available for tutoring

    Robert

    San Diego

    • $20/h
    • 30mins free
  • See more tutors