Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
alt_photo

Esther

Verified teacher profile

  • Hourly rate $20
  • Response Time 1h
  • Number of students 1
Request a lesson

1st lesson free!

1st lesson free!

Doctoral student offering academic tutoring and support with 7 years of A-level excellence. I can also provide personal, life, and relationship coaching.

About the lesson

My teaching methods are incredibly hands-on and interactive. I have my students first tell me how they are feeling, tell me a little about their day, and let any underlying issues that might intervene with the session be resolved or properly addressed. After this has occurred, I ask them to discuss with me what the question, problem, or confusion is, and then for them to explain to me what they know of it so far. Then we sit and discuss the underlying contexts through the use of interactive examples, play, or comprehensive explanations to help find answers. I then test the student’s understanding by giving an application based question and help them comprehend any forms of misunderstandings. My approach is entirely client-centered, so this structure could shift dependent on what the student needs and how they learn.

subjects

  • Academic tutoring
  • Homework help

languages

  • English

levels

  • Elementary School
  • Middle School
  • Sophomore
  • +7

    Junior

    Senior

    College / University

    Adult Education

    Masters

    Doctorate

    Kindergarten

About Esther

Hi there! I’m a doctoral student in the field of clinical psychology with years of academic excellence, and experience working as a behavioral therapist and crisis counselor. What does that mean for your child? They will be tutored and mentored by someone who prioritizes their mental health and pushes them to become the best version of themselves (inside and outside of the classroom). While I have years of research and expertise in multiple subjects, I am especially strong in these three categories: Psychology, Writing, and Study Skills. My experiences go as follows:

Psychology
----I possess a B.A. degree in Psychology, currently working on a PsyD in Clinical Psychology, hold over 2 years of research experience in health psychology, and possess an Outstanding Student in Psychology Award from a University of California institution.

Writing
---- I've edited manuscripts for research projects, assisted in systematic literature reviews, applied and successfully received research grants and academic scholarships for my essays, and also helped synthesize conference level presentations. My literary works have earned me several awards and recognitions, one of which included a plaque from the prestigious University of San Diego for an essay contest. The following are some of the writing opportunities I provide services for:
Academic essays/reports
College admission papers
Creative writing
Curriculum Vitae/Resume editing
General essay revising/review
Poetry (Free verse, Limerick, and Haiku)
Proofreading for grammar and syntax
Scholarship essays
And many more!

Study Skills
---- I have mastered the art of studying and used my own personal skills to earn an honors 4.0 GPA in high school, and highest honors 3.95 GPA at my previous institution. The following are some strategies I’ve also used when mentoring and tutoring kids:
Building personal mnemonic and literary codes for tough concepts
Situation and environmental manipulation for context-dependent memory development
Reading course notes right before bed | Taking 20-minute naps or breaks in between studying
Taking Cornell Notes with a color-coded system for significant terminology
Test prepping by creating your own Quizlets and exams
and many more!

Looking forward to working with you!

Rates

packages

  • 5h: $90
  • 10h: $170

webcam

  • $20/h

free lessons

  • 1hr

Details

You can cancel our sessions up until a minute before an online session, but 24 hours prior to an in-home session.

We can discuss and negotiate rates based on the situation.

Find your tutor academic tutoring
25665 tutors available

  • Get help in furnishing Research designs, and making methodological choices in Research Projects, Essays, and term projects.

    Syed

    Los Angeles

    5 (15 reviews)
    • $65/h
  • Tutor with two years of experience in economics, Auditing, biology, and chemistry .

    Fakhra

    Orlando

    5 (12 reviews)
    • $10/h
    • 30mins free
  • Teacher, my basic qualification is Doctorate  and I have 7years of tutoring experience. I teach K-9 students and can help them in subjects like Math and Algebra.

    Namita

    Edison

    5 (12 reviews)
    • $35/h
    • 1hr free
  • USC grad with 2+ years of employment at foremost NYC tutoring companies

    Sophie

    Santa Monica

    5 (11 reviews)
    • $75/h
    • 1hr free
  • Tutor from Pittsburgh! I would be happy to set up an online lesson to get started.

    Emily

    Elizabeth

    5 (5 reviews)
    • $10/h
    • 30mins free
  • English Online: Master's Degree in Education/Teaching English and 13 years of teaching experience

    Jennifer

    New York

    5 (4 reviews)
    • $40/h
    • 30mins free
  • K-8 Certified Teacher, 10+ years experience as an ESL Teacher Overseas, Mom, Passion for teaching and fun!

    Elisabeth

    Poulsbo

    5 (4 reviews)
    • $40/h
    • 30mins free
  • Retired elementary teacher with lots to give for the right individuals. Love to teach!

    Lora

    Clancy

    5 (4 reviews)
    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Computer skills teacher with experience in film/tv/video/broadcasting, serving Upper Valley families in New Hampshire and Vermont!

    Jordan

    Lebanon

    5 (3 reviews)
    • $15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Sophomore college student , division one soccer player , science major and previously nanny

    Mahalle

    Baltimore

    5 (2 reviews)
    • $13/h
    • 1hr free
  • Professional educator for Elementary school level in Hialeah, FL with 10 years experience; willing to tutor those students struggling with the English language

    Denise

    Hialeah

    5 (2 reviews)
    • $45/h
    • 1hr free
  • Brian Kissman is an expert for all things literacy. With 30 years experience, he teaches critical reading, writing, conversation and presentation skills. Significant results in 3 to 6 months.

    Brian

    Lakeside

    5 (2 reviews)
    • $40/h
    • 1hr free
  • High school student with experience gives homework help from home in Chicago

    Noor

    Chicago

    5 (2 reviews)
    • $25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Teacher with 15 years of experience in elementary education, located in the Portland OR area

    Diane

    Hillsboro

    5 (2 reviews)
    • $40/h
    • 1hr free
  • I’m a high school freshman, I’m able to help tutor students K-6, and 7-9 depending on the topic. I’m hoping to grow a connection with your student and tutor to the best of my ability!

    Tee

    Roanoke

    5 (2 reviews)
    • $15/h
    • 45mins free
  • Ranks in the top 25% nationally and has won state, regional, and local academic based competitions and scholarships.

    Olivia

    Clinton Township

    5 (1 reviews)
    • $20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Hello!  College grad, able to assist with homework help, pick-up, etc!

    Berta

    San Diego

    • $12/h
    • 1hr free
  • NY based Academic Tutor with 5+ years of experience giving homework help to students in grades K-8.

    Taellor

    Greenwich

    • $14/h
    • 1hr free
  • Graduated with an AA in psychology and am working towards my bachelors

    Cecilia

    San Diego

    • $17/h
    • 1hr free
  • Teacher/Tutor with M.Ed and virtual learning/technology specialization offering K-12 tutoring after school

    James

    Chester Springs

    • $30/h
    • 45mins free
  • See more tutors